Review: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

image

Synopsis:
Meet Don Tillman.
Don is getting married.
He just doesn’t know who to yet.
But he has designed a very detailed questionnaire to help him find the perfect woman.

One thing he already knows, though, is that it’s not Rosie.
Absolutely, completely, definitely not.

Don Tillman is a socially challenged genetics professor who’s decided the time has come to find a wife. His questionnaire is intended to weed out anyone who’s unsuitable. The trouble is, Don has rather high standards and doesn’t really do flexible so, despite lots of takers, he’s not having much success in identifying The One.

When Rosie Jarman comes to his office, Don assumes it’s to apply for the Wife Project – and duly discounts her on the grounds she smokes, drinks, doesn’t eat meat, and is incapable of punctuality. However, Rosie has no interest in becoming Mrs Tillman and is actually there to enlist Don’s assistance in a professional capacity: to help her find her biological father.

Sometimes, though, you don’t find love: love finds you..

Actual Review:

“I am thirty-nine years old, tall, fit and intelligent, with a relatively high status and above-average income as an associate professor. Logically, I should be attractive to a wide range of women. In the animal kingdom, I would succeed in reproducing.

image

Everyone, let me introduce to you Professor Tillman or Don, the most socially inept (not to mention funniest) fictional male protagonist that I have ever encountered in a romance novel.

Yes, I know that this image is actually of Gregory Peck.

And no, I didn’t fall in love with Don even more when it was stated in the book that he looked a lot like this sexy beast. Not at all.

This probably is one of the funniest and most entertaining chick lit that I have read, and the oddest thing is, the author is a dude.Now, I didn’t intend for that to come out so sexist, but I just found it peculiar that it was a guy who made me like a romance novel more than usual.
Not to mention, this book felt like a breath of fresh air. I’ve read a lot of romance with a woman relaying the story, the romantic interest either a douche bag, a nice guy, a rocker, etcetera, but never was there a novel about an exceptionally smart and physically attractive man who is undeniably socially awkward in the most entertaining way. He’s absolutely weird, and he knows it.

“‘Because I’m weird. Perfectly understandable. I’m familiar with the problem because everyone else seems weird to me.’”

Now I know I’m throwing around a lot of superlatives here, but let me assure you guys that this is not an overstatement.

I think one of the reasons why I liked this so much is because Don and I have a lot of things in common. I never was good at small talk and things are bound to grow awkward if I don’t know the person. I also tend to get a bit obsessive about making some sort of schedule.

I absolutely liked the way he spoke, although sometimes I find myself with a bleeding nose because he speaks so… Academically. BUT he has this unintentional humor as well. I found myself snickering like a maniac at 3 in the morning due to statements such as these:

“Her breasts were probably no more than one and a half standard deviations from the mean size for her body weight, and hardly a remarkable identifying feature.”

“‘Tell me something I don’t know,’ said Rosie for no obvious reason.
I quickly searched my mind for an interesting fact. ‘Ahhh … The testicles of drone bees and wasp spiders explode during sex.’

Also, since he was so unusual he was caught in numerous hilarious situations. I’m so tempted to tell you guys right now, but I definitely won’t. 😉

The side characters for me were pretty likeable as well. I liked the fact that everyone here are not perfect and in the end, each of them changed for the better. Gene, Claudia, Rosie etcetera. I also liked the fact that Rosie is a bit of a feminist. She is a tough girl, and she doesn’t want to change Don. She likes him as he is.

What kept me from giving this a perfect rating is because I felt somewhat frustrated with both Don and Rosie nearing the end of the book. I kept on saying, “Just get together already you dimwits!” but besides that everything was perfect. If you’re sick of all those too angsty, too cheesy romance novels, I highly suggest that you give this a try. You won’t regret it.

Verdict:

4.5 devious smiles!
imageimageimageimageimage

Leave a Reply

