Review: Unteachable by Leah Raeder

17978680

Synopsis:

This novel contains graphic sexual content and strong language. It is intended for mature readers.

I met him at a carnival, of all corny places. The summer I turned eighteen, in that chaos of neon lights and cheap thrills, I met a man so sweet, so beautiful, he seemed to come from another world. We had one night: intense, scary, real. Then I ran, like I always do. Because I didn’t want to be abandoned again.

But I couldn’t run far enough.

I knew him as Evan that night. When I walked into his classroom, he became Mr. Wilke.

My teacher.

I don’t know if what we’re doing is wrong. The rules say one thing; my heart says screw the rules. I can’t let him lose his job. And I can’t lose him.

In the movies, this would have a happy ending. I grow up. I love, I lose, I learn. And I move on. But this is life, and there’s no script. You make it up as you go along.

And you don’t pray for a happy ending. You pray for it to never end.

Actual Review:

Part of falling in love with someone is actually falling in love with yourself. Realizing that you’re gorgeous, you’re fearless and unpredictable, you’re a firecracker spitting light, entrancing a hundred faces that stare up at you with starry eyes.”

Ever since I was exposed to different novels, I have become slightly finicky. Especially when it comes to NA novels.
They are either: Too sappy, too green to the point where it actually drowned out the actual plot, too corny, too unrealistic, too much alpha hoohah, too juvenile… The list goes on.

So when I read Unteachable’s synopsis… About a teacher-student relationship, I rolled my eyes and said “Gosh. Here we go again.”

But we didn’t go there again.

This book generally had this sad, melancholy-ish atmosphere even if the heroine was trying to make jokes. I couldn’t help but feel sorry whenever she jokingly explained her circumstances through Freudian theories.

So what exactly is this novel about? It isn’t about sex (even though there were lots of it, and I personally think that it didn’t need those scenes to make this a totally marketable book.) This is about two perfectly imperfect individuals. Both had personal issues to work with, problems that needed to be solved. Their relationship was taboo but when you disregard the teacher-student side of it, it was pretty healthy. They made the other person better. What they portrayed was love. Not obsession, not just some lust-driven relationship. Also, they didn’t gloss over their situation. Acknowledging the fact that they got a thrill because of their teacher-student situation. Well, that was refreshing.

And this is the little thing that made me love this novel even more: CHARACTER GROWTH.
Thank beejezus. By the end of the novel, they were still them, but better people.

I shouldn’t have underestimated this book. I mean, there were actual signs that this was different. Various reviews that came from people that had good taste were singing praises for this book.

P.S.: I know some people are going to cut me after I make this comment, but fudge it. THIS IS BAJILLION TIMES BETTER THAN SLAMMED! There, I said it.

Verdict:

4 out of 5 devious smiles!

Leave a Reply

