Review: Croak by Gina Damico

Synopsis:

11836538

Fed up with her wild behavior, sixteen-year-old Lex’s parents ship her off to upstate New York to live wit

h her Uncle Mort for the summer, hoping that a few months of dirty farm work will whip her back into shape.

But Uncle Mort’s true occupation is much dirtier than shoveling manure. He’s a Grim Reaper. And he’

s going to teach Lex the family business.

She quickly assimilates into the peculiar world of Croak, a town populated by reapers who deliver souls from this life to the next. But Lex can’t stop her desire for justice – or is it vengeance? – whenever she encounters a murder victim, craving to stop the attackers before they can strike again.

Will she ditch Croak and go rogue with her reaper skills?

Actual Review:

Okay, before I start can I just say that this is probably one of the most awesome book covers I have ever seen?
Also, what was I doing during 2012 that made me disregard this book? WHY DID I NOT READ THIS BEFORE.

This book was tons of fun. It took me some time to get into it because of the odd style of narration but after a few more pages, I couldn’t put it down.

As you guys all know, what I care about the most when it comes to reading novels is the likability or uniqueness or complexity of the main character and I am quite happy to say that Lex here is an epic explosion waiting to happen. She’s got some anger management issues (just like me… only more serious) She has proven again and again in the novel that she doesn’t need anyone for protection (well in terms of physical protection at least.)

“Stop right there,” she warned. “I punch, I kick, and I feel compelled to warn you, I can bite harder than the average Amazonian crocodile.”

She’s headstrong as well. I noticed a bit of a Mary Sue-ish vibe coming off of her in the beginning but that idea was pretty much kaput after reading the last bits.

Also, this probably has one of the cutest couples I have ever encountered in a YA paranormal novel. Driggs (yes, the name is pretty lame but still) and Lex…
swoon gif photo: aladdin swoon gif swoon.gif

Ever heard of love at first sight? What about love at first matching black eyes?

Didn’t think so.

Verdict:

imageimageimageimage

Leave a Reply

