Review: World After by Susan Ee (Penryn & the End of Days #2)

Synopsis:12983100

In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what’s left of the modern world.

When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?

Actual Review:

Ultimate gushing and fangirling (with ovaries exploding) will commence in 3….2…..

Oh.My.Gosh.

happy gif photo: happy gif friendshappy.gif

Before I started reading, I was actually feeling a tad bit nervous. I mean, I’ve been waiting for two years for this baby and Angelfall was such an awesome book filled with a lot of action, horrific scenes that made me shout “Oh my goodness this is so awesome.” while I was having goosebumps. A few seconds before I decided to click open (I have this in ebook format) I was having an inner monologue along the lines of “Oh my goodness, this is it. What if Angelfall was simply a one trick pony? Could I actually live with that? What if I end up getting disappointed with this book? Could this actually match up to the first book in terms of it’s awesomeness? Oh my goodness shut up and open it already!”

The minute I opened it and started reading, it dawned on me that I shouldn’t have doubted Ms. Susan Ee.

This book was just as awesome as the first one, and yes guys. TOTALLY WORTH THE WAIT. It’s fast paced, exciting, and deliciously horrific with funny moments in just the right places.

Penryn is just as awesome as she was before and this book proved that she doesn’t need Raffe to make this novel successful and although I was saddened by the fact that he was not with her in the first half of the novel (probably due to me hardcore shipping Penryn and Raffe since book one) it gave us a chance to further understand Penryn’s mom, Paige and the dynamics of their family.

I couldn’t help adoring the mom. She has shown countless times here in this book that she loves her daughters and expresses it in her own little way such as tying a writhing monster on a roof and drawing a heart on its stomach with the words Penryn and Paige with a lipstick. It was touching in a twisted kind of way.

Pooky Bear is also worth mentioning as well. Do you remember Raffe’s sentient sword in Angelfall? Yup, that’s Pooky Bear. She showed us a glimpse of the Raffe we have seen for only a few lines in the last book. The vulnerable Raffe.

And of course, how could I forget mentioning the ADORABLE  AND HILARIOUS MOMENTS when Paige And Raffe are together? The attraction’s definitely there and I absolutely love the fact that their interactions weren’t filled with angst and cheese.

“If I hadn’t already flown with him, I’d be scared. I’m above the water with nothing but his arms between me and an icy plunge. But his arms are wrapped tightly around me and his chest is warm. I lean my head against his muscular shoulder and close my eyes.

He rubs his cheek against my hair.

I know that soon I’ll have to think about Paige, Mom, and Clara. My priorities will be all about survival and getting my family together and keeping them safe from monsters and people alike.

But for now, for just for this moment, I let myself be a seventeen-year-old girl in a strong guy’s arms. I even let some of the what-ifs seep in, the kind of possibilities that might have blossomed between us in the World Before.

Just for a little while.

Before I carefully fold my dreams away into the vault in my head.”

World After is a wonderful sequel and I am absolutely not exaggerating when I say that I fell deeper in love with the series after reading this. It’s a book you definitely shouldn’t miss. Easily one of my favorite books of the year.

happy gif photo:  o881p3.gif

Verdict:

imageimageimageimageimage

One thought on “Review: World After by Susan Ee (Penryn & the End of Days #2)

  1. I can’t wait to come back and read your review when I read the book!

Leave a Reply

